Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Juvenile Notes - 19th September

Under 9’s
Our Under 9’s travelled down to Roanmore for their annual ground hurling tournament, this year funds being raised for Waterford Hospice Movement. We had 2 teams entered and both teams did great winning all of their 6 games. We played Mount Sion, Thomastown, Mullinavat, St. Martins, An Rinn and Fourmilewater. The standard of hurling was very good from all teams with some great performances from the Abbeyside boys. Sean Kelly, former GAA President, was on hand to present the winning medals to the boys.

Panel on the day were as follows: Rian Walsh, Seanie Lenihan, Kevin Keohan, Donnacha O’Dwyer, Oisin O’Riordan, David Byrne, John Joe Queally, Sean Lanigan, Sean Óg Flynn, Joe Flynn, James Moloney, James Harty, Darragh Moynihan, Jack Ahern, Kieran O’Hara and Conor Kent.

Thanks to the parents who travelled and supported the team and again thanks to Liam Cheasty and his team for their efficient running of the blitz where 122 teams took part.

U9 Hurlers at Roanmore Charity Blitz
Training Wednesday evenings at 6.00pm – 7.30pm and Friday evening training from 6.00pm to 7.30pm.Teamers will be sent out for each session.

Under 13/14
Our under 14’s travelled to Kill last Wednesday to take on De La Salle in the division 1 semi final. Unfortunately the result didn’t go our way and a very good De La Salle ran out winners. This was a great achievement for the players and management to get this far and with a lot of players still under 14 next year, hopefully we will go one better. Thanks to all management and players for their efforts during the year.

Most of our under 14’s then had to pick themselves up for a Western Final this past Saturday. We had two teams involved here. Our division 1 had a very impressive victory over neighbours Dungarvan on a scoreline of 4-10 to 1-5.
Our division 3 team were narrowly beaten after extra time by Ballyduff Upper on a scoreline of 2-7 to 2-5.

Panel: Seamus Ryan, Aaron Beresford, Jack Kiely, James Beresford, Padraig Moore, Bearach Moore, Gearoid Hallinan, Tom Looby, Neil Montgomery, Ryan Daly, Darragh McGrath, Tony Collins, Sean Whelan Barrett, Sean Crotty, David Montgomery, Mark Twomey, Fionn Gibson Kiely, Patrick Power. John Power, Jack Dwane, Paddy Dwane, Cian Power, Meldan Dwyer, Jamie Walsh, Tommy Walsh, Paul Wade, Michael O’Riordan, James Riordan, Daithi Brunnock, Johnny Treen, Michael Kiely, Dean Beresford, Sean Kent, Jake O’Riordan, Tiernan Fagan, Cian Fagan.
Club History
Abbeyside / Ballinacourty GAA Club was formed in 1967 as a result of the amalgamation of Abbeyside Hurling and Football Clubs and Ballinacourty Football Club. It is situated within the Parish of Abbeyside, Ballinroad and Garranbane. Located on the eastern side of the River Colligan, it forms the northern and eastern shorelines of Dungarvan Harbour from Abbeyside Church to Ballinacourty Lighthouse
Development Fund
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club has been growing at a dramatic pace over the past 10 years with the population of our parish increasing rapidly. We must ensure that we have the best facilities for all our players. We want to ensure that the next generation have the facilities that they need and deserve. We are asking supporters and friends to support this project over the next five years.
Strategic Plan
Past generations have had their visions for the future of our club. These are our current aims and with these achieved we hope to hand on the club to future generations in the same healthy state it was passed onto us.
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Ireland.
Website by: Déise Design