Saturday, January 12, 2013

Photo of the Week

1995 Junior 'B' Western Football Champions
Back Row (L to R): Tony Mansfield, Myles Clancy, Ollie Keohan, Ray Quinn, Brian Hennessy, Pat Walsh, Bosco O'Mahony, John Clancy, Stephen Wadding, Joe Tobin, Billy Keohan, John Whelan, Trevor Walsh, Austin O'Connor, Donal Looby, Joe O'Riordan, Mel Shanley, Paddy Keohan, Jim Mulhearne, Johnny Morrissey, Willie Kiely.
Front Row (L to R): Michael Mansfield, Tommy Wade, Dermot Ryan, Brian O'Donovan, Alan Moore, Michael O'Riordan, Kenny Killigrew, Luke Brennan, Laurence Boland, Kevin Tobin, Alan Tobin.

This week's photo shows the Ballinacourty Junior 'B' Football team that captured the Western Title after a comprehensive 3-10 to 0-5 victory over Melleray in Cappoquin. This qualified the team for the quarter final of the Western 'A' Championship where they met Ballinacourty 'A' in a novel pairing. The 'A' team came out on top by 5 points, 1-10 to 1-5.
Club History
Abbeyside / Ballinacourty GAA Club was formed in 1967 as a result of the amalgamation of Abbeyside Hurling and Football Clubs and Ballinacourty Football Club. It is situated within the Parish of Abbeyside, Ballinroad and Garranbane. Located on the eastern side of the River Colligan, it forms the northern and eastern shorelines of Dungarvan Harbour from Abbeyside Church to Ballinacourty Lighthouse
Development Fund
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club has been growing at a dramatic pace over the past 10 years with the population of our parish increasing rapidly. We must ensure that we have the best facilities for all our players. We want to ensure that the next generation have the facilities that they need and deserve. We are asking supporters and friends to support this project over the next five years.
Strategic Plan
Past generations have had their visions for the future of our club. These are our current aims and with these achieved we hope to hand on the club to future generations in the same healthy state it was passed onto us.
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Ireland.
Website by: Déise Design