Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Club Notes - 14th December

Jack The Joker
Our ever popular Jack the Joker fundraiser continues this Sunday night in Crotty’s Bar where the jackpot is €4,200 as on Sunday night Paddy King was drawn out of the drum and chose card number 31 which wasn’t the Joker but he did win €50. Pat Earley and Ken and Jim won €25 each. As well as our group of ticket sellers tickets can be purchased from Village Flowers, Spar, Mousies Takeaway, Minnies Bar, Abbeyside Post Office and Crottys Corner Bar.

Under 21 Hurling
Pride of place this week must go to our Under 21 hurling team who captured the Western Title on Saturday night after putting in a great performance against Dungarvan. Whilst our neighbours had a very good record in this championship in recent years, heading into Saturday’s game, our young team played with great character and showed no little skill from start to finish. Great credit must go to both sets of players for serving up such an entertaining game in extremely poor conditions as it looked like the heavy fog was going to result in the game being cancelled at one stage. After that game Brian Looby accepted the cup on behalf of the team and in a very eloquent speech he thanked the management team for all the wonderful work they put into preparing the team, the supporters for the great support they gave the team and our opponents Dungarvan for a hard fought but fair match. Fittingly he paid a poignant tribute to Mick Collins who was a selector with the team before his untimely death earlier this year.


We now look forward to the County Final this Sunday in Fraher Field at 1:30 pm where our opponents are De La Salle. Interestingly it is 50 years since we won the very first County Under 21 Championship to be played in Waterford, when in 1966 we also defeated De La Salle. We urge all our supporters to please come along on Sunday and support the team as they attempt to bring the Tony Mansfield Cup back to Abbeyside for the first time.

Our AGM took place on Friday night last in Abbeyside School Hall, where before a good attendance the club activities on and off the field were reviewed. Firstly Club Treasurer Packie Hurney presented an excellent set of accounts, which if anything highlighted the huge amount of work that goes into raising the money required to run a club of our size. The costs associated with running a club fielding 6 adult teams and so many juvenile teams continue to rise, whilst we still have commitments to meet due to our development work over the past number of years. Despite this our club remains on a sound financial footing and Packie is to be commended for this. Club Secretary Jonathan O’Donovan then gave the meeting a most comprehensive report on all club activities during 2016. As ever with Jonathan it covered all areas of the club’s workings leaving nothing or nobody out. Jonathan was thanked for the extremely efficient way he carried out his duties as Secretary during his term, as he is stepping down from the position and our new Secretary certainly has a tough act to follow.
Our Club Chairman Bernard Shields then gave his Chairman’s address where he also touched on a wide variety of club activity, whilst thanking all the players who wore the club jersey with such pride during the year and the club volunteers who do such a multitude of jobs 12 months a year to keep the club going. It was an emotional night for Bernard as he was stepping down as Chairman, after previously serving as Club Secretary for so many years. Bernard will not be lost to the club as he is our new Club President, an honour richly deserved for a man who has given a life time of service to our Club. The election of officers then took place with following being elected:
Presidents: Austin Flynn, Liam Enright, Éamonn Keane, Joseph Organ, Jimmy O’Leary, Fr. Michael Enright, P.E., Bernard Shields
Vice Presidents: Fr. Michael Brennock, OSA, Fr. Colin Fives, OSA, Fr. Ned Hassett, PP
Chairman: Michael Briggs
Vice Chairman: Michael Cosgrave
Secretary: Tomás Kiely
Assistant Secretary: Eleanor McGrath
Treasurer: Packie Hurney
PRO: Neil Moore
Membership Officer: Pat Keane
Children’s Officer: Bríd Slevin
Committee: Joe Cleary, Michael O’Donovan, Jack O’Hare, Jim O’Mahony, Ian Kiely, Conor Clancy, Willie Kiely, Sean McGrath, Ger Collins.

There are still a limited number of club keyrings available to purchase costing €5. These would make an ideal stocking filler for any club supporter and they can be purchased from Jack O’Hare.

Inter-Provincial Football
On Sunday last Munster were defeated by Ulster in the Inter provincial Football semi final in Parnell Park, Dublin. We were delighted to see Patrick Hurney chosen on the Munster team and all in the club congratulate Patrick on this wonderful honour.

Christmas Raffle
Tickets are currently on sale from any committee member for our Annual Christmas Raffle. We appeal to all our supporters to please support this raffle as best you can to help us raise the funds required to run our club.

Club Bingo
This week our club bingo session continues in the CBS Hall at 8pm with a jackpot of €1200

Club History
Abbeyside / Ballinacourty GAA Club was formed in 1967 as a result of the amalgamation of Abbeyside Hurling and Football Clubs and Ballinacourty Football Club. It is situated within the Parish of Abbeyside, Ballinroad and Garranbane. Located on the eastern side of the River Colligan, it forms the northern and eastern shorelines of Dungarvan Harbour from Abbeyside Church to Ballinacourty Lighthouse
Development Fund
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club has been growing at a dramatic pace over the past 10 years with the population of our parish increasing rapidly. We must ensure that we have the best facilities for all our players. We want to ensure that the next generation have the facilities that they need and deserve. We are asking supporters and friends to support this project over the next five years.
Strategic Plan
Past generations have had their visions for the future of our club. These are our current aims and with these achieved we hope to hand on the club to future generations in the same healthy state it was passed onto us.
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Ireland.
Website by: Déise Design