Sunday, December 17, 2023

Club Notes - 13th December


Club Lotto
Our weekly lotto takes place on Tuesday night next.  Next week's Jackpot will be €10,500. Tickets can be purchased from club sellers and by clicking on the following link -

Or alternatively scan the QR code below.

Our regular Sunday night Bingo continues every week in the CBS Hall.  Eyes down at 8.00pm.
Annual General Meeting
The chairman opened the meeting by thanking everyone for coming to review the club’s activities for 2023.  A minute’s silence was observed in memory of all associated with the club who died since last year’s AGM.
Minutes of last year’s AGM were proposed by John Kiely and seconded by Bernard Shields.
Treasurer’s Report: Pakie Hurney gave a detailed breakdown of income and expenditure for the year and thanked all for their assistance during the last twelve months.  Chairman on behalf of all in the club thanked Pakie for the professional manner in which he handled the club’s finances during the year. 
Secretary’s Report: Jonathan O’Donovan reported on all on and off field activities for the year.  The chairman on behalf of the club thanked the secretary for his work during the year. 
Chairman’s Address: The chairman thanked all the team managers and players for their efforts in 2023.  Although disappointing in terms of silverware, each adult team reached the knock-out stages of their respective championships showing there is much talent among our playing cohort.  He commented on the excellent condition of our club grounds and thanked the CE Scheme workers and Jim O’Mahony, Bernard Gorman and Kevin Tobin for their work on same.
He then expressed appreciation to Jack and Seán O’Hare for Adesco’s continued sponsorship of the club.  Gratitude to all who bought and sold tickets and organised events was offered, especially to the bingo sub-committee of Larry Cliffe, Carmel Power, Kevin Tobin and Michael O’Donovan, those involved in running the weekly lotto draws and Deise Draw.
Election of Officers:
Chairman: Neil Moore
Vice Chairman: Michael Ferncombe
Secretary: Jonathan O’Donovan
Treasurer: Pakie Hurney
Membership Officer: Kevin Tobin
PRO: Páidí Shields
All of the above were elected unopposed.
Election of Committee: The following were elected to the Committee for 2024: Eddie O’Halloran, Michael O’Donovan, Jim O’Mahony, Carmel Power, Timmy Organ, Danny McGrath, Donncha Enright, Patrick Hurney, John Kiely, Michelle Kiely, Karl Power (Juvenile Chairman) & Tomás Kiely.
U20 Hurling County Final
After a very well contested and tight game, unfortunately the U20’s came up just short in their Co Final on Sunday.  Thanks to the lads and management team for all their efforts this year.
There is little respite however as next weekend sees the commencement of our football campaign.
County U20 ‘A’ Football Championship Semi Final
Ballinacourty v Clan na nGael – Leamybrien, Sunday, 17th December, 12:00 noon
Club History
Abbeyside / Ballinacourty GAA Club was formed in 1967 as a result of the amalgamation of Abbeyside Hurling and Football Clubs and Ballinacourty Football Club. It is situated within the Parish of Abbeyside, Ballinroad and Garranbane. Located on the eastern side of the River Colligan, it forms the northern and eastern shorelines of Dungarvan Harbour from Abbeyside Church to Ballinacourty Lighthouse
Development Fund
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club has been growing at a dramatic pace over the past 10 years with the population of our parish increasing rapidly. We must ensure that we have the best facilities for all our players. We want to ensure that the next generation have the facilities that they need and deserve. We are asking supporters and friends to support this project over the next five years.
Strategic Plan
Past generations have had their visions for the future of our club. These are our current aims and with these achieved we hope to hand on the club to future generations in the same healthy state it was passed onto us.
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Ireland.
Website by: Déise Design