Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Juvenile Notes - 17th October

Harty Cup
Coláistí na nDéise continue the defence of their title today when they take on St. Flannan’s in Cashel at 2.30pm. This is the lads’ third game and with two wins already, they are in a good position.

Under 9 and Under 10 - Danny Lenihan / Joe Flynn Tournaments
We had a wonderful day out last Saturday in our club grounds, where we played for both the Danny Lenihan and the Joe Flynn Memorial Cups. The under 10 and the under 9 age group were divided into four teams with 8-9 players on each team and all three games were 15 minutes a side, the hurling was very good from all the teams with just a few scores separating the teams in each game. The Danny Lenihan Cup was presented by Mrs Lenihan to the winning captain DJ Kiely and all his team mates with the Joe Flynn Cup presented by Benny Flynn to the winning captain Niall Buckley and his team mates. A special thanks to the young whistlers, Juvenile chairman Larry and club Chairman Tony, to the catering crew on the morning, and everyone that helped out, and a special thanks to Carmel our hard working juvenile secretary. We are not finished yet for the season, hurling training continues every Wednesday with a few more games still to play, weather permitting.

Under 7 and Under 8
We had our internal club tournament played on Saturday morning the 13th October. Our under 7's and 8's mixed to play for the Rose Lanigan Cup and the Michael Higgins Cup. We had 4 teams of 9 a side battle it out. Well done to all the boys who togged out in this section of the tournament. Cork won the Michael Higgins Cup and the runners up were Galway who collected the Rose Lanigan Cup, Kilkenny and Waterford were the other two teams. Here are the line ups:
Cork                            Galway                Kilkenny                    Waterford
Seanie Callaghan      Jack McGrath        Thomas Nee           Michael Walsh
Leon Cummins          Rian Cosgrave      Eoin Kiely               Andrew Norris
Charlie Gough           Jack Kiely            Fergie Slevin           Rory Tyrell
Edmund Spratt          Oisin Brazil          Jamie Mulcahy        Jake Drummy
Daniel Morrissey        Jack O Donovan   Conor Gough           Ryan Cliffe
Sean Queally            Ethan Keohan      Kyle Moloney           Darragh Walsh
Dylan O Regan         Jake O Donnell      Fionn Murchu          Sean Walsh
Luke Downey            Billy O Connell     Cormac Slevin         Darragh Cosgrave
Brian Callaghan         David Horgan      Cormac Dunne         Kieran Cosgrave
Club History
Abbeyside / Ballinacourty GAA Club was formed in 1967 as a result of the amalgamation of Abbeyside Hurling and Football Clubs and Ballinacourty Football Club. It is situated within the Parish of Abbeyside, Ballinroad and Garranbane. Located on the eastern side of the River Colligan, it forms the northern and eastern shorelines of Dungarvan Harbour from Abbeyside Church to Ballinacourty Lighthouse
Development Fund
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club has been growing at a dramatic pace over the past 10 years with the population of our parish increasing rapidly. We must ensure that we have the best facilities for all our players. We want to ensure that the next generation have the facilities that they need and deserve. We are asking supporters and friends to support this project over the next five years.
Strategic Plan
Past generations have had their visions for the future of our club. These are our current aims and with these achieved we hope to hand on the club to future generations in the same healthy state it was passed onto us.
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Ireland.
Website by: Déise Design