Saturday, October 27, 2012

Photo of the Week

1979 County Senior Football Champions
Standing (L to R): A. Barron, M. O'Flynn, D. O'Connor, G. Looby, J. Kiely, R. Cashin, N. Cashin, S. Feehan, T. Ó Faoláin, J. Mulligan, J. O'Dwyer, J. Moloney.
Kneeling (L to R): M. Hanrahan, S. Fitzgerald, P. Enright, J. Kiely, J. Burns, E. Cashin, J. Power (Capt.), M. Kiely, F. Shields, M. Fraher, K. Mulvihill, T. Wade.
Seated (L to R): D. Looby, P. McGovern, J. Healy.

This week's photo shows the Ballinacourty Senior Football team that retained the County Championship in 1979. Wins over Rathgormack, Ardmore and Dunhill set up a final meeting with Ferrybank at Fraher Field in October.  After a titanic struggle, Ballinacourty emerged victorious by a single point, 1-12 to 1-11. To win two county titles in succession left no one in any doubt as to the quality of this group of players. A procession that evening to Ballinacourty was followed by a reception in St. Laurence's Hall, Ballinroad. The following night was the occasion of a big celebratory parade through Abbeyside. 
Club History
Abbeyside / Ballinacourty GAA Club was formed in 1967 as a result of the amalgamation of Abbeyside Hurling and Football Clubs and Ballinacourty Football Club. It is situated within the Parish of Abbeyside, Ballinroad and Garranbane. Located on the eastern side of the River Colligan, it forms the northern and eastern shorelines of Dungarvan Harbour from Abbeyside Church to Ballinacourty Lighthouse
Development Fund
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club has been growing at a dramatic pace over the past 10 years with the population of our parish increasing rapidly. We must ensure that we have the best facilities for all our players. We want to ensure that the next generation have the facilities that they need and deserve. We are asking supporters and friends to support this project over the next five years.
Strategic Plan
Past generations have had their visions for the future of our club. These are our current aims and with these achieved we hope to hand on the club to future generations in the same healthy state it was passed onto us.
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Ireland.
Website by: Déise Design