Saturday, July 26, 2014

Photo of the Week

2008 County Senior Hurling Finalists
Back Row (L to R): Mark Fives, Stephen Lanigan, Shane Briggs, Jonathan Moore, Patrick Hurney, Eoin Brackett, Seán O'Hare, Gavin Breen, Gary Hurney, James Hayes, Simon Hanrahan, John Gorman, Patrick Lynch, Pa Enright, John Kindregan, Laurence Hurney.
Front Row (L to R): Shane O'Donovan, Brian Scanlon, Stephen Enright, Brendan Walsh, John Phelan, Stephen Slater, Eoin Enright, John Foley, Daryl Ryan, Tiernan Murray, Richie Foley, James O'Mahony, Michael Enright, John Hurney, Declan Fives, Mark Ferncombe, Mark Gorman.

This week's photo comes from the 2008 County Senior Hurling Final played at Fraher Field in dreadful conditions on 9th November. In the group stages, Abbeyside defeated Mount Sion and Passage before losing to Lismore. In the quarter final, the boys beat Ballyduff Lower and followed this with a replayed victory over Ballyduff Upper. Abbeyside's first County Senior Hurling Final appearance in 39 years ended in an agonising two point defeat to De La Salle, 0-11 to 0-9.

Club History
Abbeyside / Ballinacourty GAA Club was formed in 1967 as a result of the amalgamation of Abbeyside Hurling and Football Clubs and Ballinacourty Football Club. It is situated within the Parish of Abbeyside, Ballinroad and Garranbane. Located on the eastern side of the River Colligan, it forms the northern and eastern shorelines of Dungarvan Harbour from Abbeyside Church to Ballinacourty Lighthouse
Development Fund
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club has been growing at a dramatic pace over the past 10 years with the population of our parish increasing rapidly. We must ensure that we have the best facilities for all our players. We want to ensure that the next generation have the facilities that they need and deserve. We are asking supporters and friends to support this project over the next five years.
Strategic Plan
Past generations have had their visions for the future of our club. These are our current aims and with these achieved we hope to hand on the club to future generations in the same healthy state it was passed onto us.
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Ireland.
Website by: Déise Design