Wednesday, December 4, 2019

Club Notes - 4th December

Under 19 Hurling Western Champions
Pride of place this week goes to our Under 19 hurlers who beat Saint Carthage’s in the Western Final last Sunday at the wonderfully appointed Gold Coast venue. Playing divisional finals in December is never ideal but conditions on the day were, if a little on the chilly side, more akin to what would be expected in mid-summer. Allied to the excellent playing surface both teams went on to produce an open, exciting game with no little skill on display from both sides.
Saint Carthage’s opened the brighter and it took our lads a little time to settle into the game but once they did we took a firm grip on proceedings and 2 well taken goals gave us a 7 point half time lead. The 2nd half followed a similar pattern with our opponents storming out of the blocks and before long had reduced the deficit to a single point. However, credit to our team, there was never any panic and we gradually reasserted our dominance and began to get on top. A number of nicely taken scores, including 2 further goals, gave us a comfortable 7 point margin at the final whistle on a score line Abbeyside 4-14 Saint Carthages 2-13.
Neil Moore in his capacity as Western Board chairman presented the cup to team captain Ben Flynn, who gave a fine acceptance speech.
There were some excellent individual displays on the day, but primarily this was a great team performance with every player contributing to a superb victory. Well done to all involved, from the players to manager Neil Moore and his team of mentors, Conor Prunty, James O Mahony, Joey Mullin and Eoin Kiely, all of whom it will be noted are current players. It is heartening to see adult players take such an active role in the development of younger teams within the club and long may it continue.
We now await the Eastern champions in the County Final with the hope being this will be played before Christmas.

PanelEoin Fitzgerald, Patrick Fitzgerald, Johnie Treen, Daire Slevin, Colin Foley, Cian Fagan, Seanie Lanigan, Ben Flynn (Capt), Daithi Brunnock, Eoin Ahern, Willie Beresford, Michael Kiely, Niall Buckley, Jamie Walsh, Oisin Hallahan, David Byrne, Conor Kent, DJ Kiely, Dean Beresford, Rian Walsh, Sean Roche, Ben O Donovan, Jamie Moylan, John Joe Queally, Cian O Riordan, Jake Moore.

Our Club AGM took place last Friday night in Abbeyside School hall with a sizable attendance ensuring a lively debate on a number of topics.
Jonathan O’Donovan produced an excellent and comprehensive Secretary’s Report which covered in great detail all elements of the clubs activities in 2019. Having been received very favourably by all those present and following a discussion on areas raised therein the report was approved. 
Chairman Michael Briggs gave a wide ranging address which again touched on everything that has been happening over the past 12 months. He thanked in particular all his fellow officers, committee members, players, team management, everyone working away in the background and all those who continue to contribute to the ongoing development works at our club grounds. On the playing side he congratulated our Junior C Hurling County Champions, whilst also reflecting on a few near misses and some disappointments in the other grades.

As Michael has stepped aside as Chairman it is only right at this time that we thank him and the Vice Chairman Michael Cosgrave for their sterling work over the past two years.

The last item on the agenda was the election of Officers and the committee for 2020. With Neil Moore standing unopposed for the position of Chairman he was ratified for the coming 12 months along with the other Club Officers and new committee. The incoming Chairman gave a brief address outlining plans for the year ahead and with that the meeting was called to a conclusion.

The new committee then convened for a brief meeting where, amongst other items, it was agreed that the appointment of team managers would be dealt with over the coming weeks. The intention being to have this finalised prior to Christmas.

The following are the officers and committee members for 2020
Chairman: Neil Moore
Assistant Chairman: Michael Ferncombe
Secretary: Jonathan O’Donovan
Treasurer: Pakie Hurney
Membership Officer: Kevin Tobin
PRO: Paidi Shields
Committee: Bernard Gorman, Eddie O Halloran, Michael O Donovan, Joe Cleary, Frank Sweeney, Jim O Mahony, Timmy Organ, Danny McGrath, Ian Kiely.

Jack the Joker
Our ever popular Jack the Joker fundraiser continues this Sunday night in Minnie’s Bar where the jackpot is €3400 as on Sunday night The Morning Club were drawn out of the drum and chose card number 43 which when turned over was not the joker, but they did win €50. The Walsh Family and Sandra Cliffe won €25 each.

Club Bingo
Our club bingo continues in the CBS Hall this Sunday night where the jackpot is €700.

Club History
Abbeyside / Ballinacourty GAA Club was formed in 1967 as a result of the amalgamation of Abbeyside Hurling and Football Clubs and Ballinacourty Football Club. It is situated within the Parish of Abbeyside, Ballinroad and Garranbane. Located on the eastern side of the River Colligan, it forms the northern and eastern shorelines of Dungarvan Harbour from Abbeyside Church to Ballinacourty Lighthouse
Development Fund
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club has been growing at a dramatic pace over the past 10 years with the population of our parish increasing rapidly. We must ensure that we have the best facilities for all our players. We want to ensure that the next generation have the facilities that they need and deserve. We are asking supporters and friends to support this project over the next five years.
Strategic Plan
Past generations have had their visions for the future of our club. These are our current aims and with these achieved we hope to hand on the club to future generations in the same healthy state it was passed onto us.
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Ireland.
Website by: Déise Design