Saturday, November 10, 2012

Photo of the Week

1979 Western & County U21 Football Champions
Back Row (L to R): M. Foley, M. Hayes, R. Fives, N. Hannigan, L. O'Connor, J. Mulligan, B. Foley, Seán Feehan, L. Shanley, G. Looby (Capt.), Séamus Feehan, J. Organ.
Front Row (L to R): J. Curran, J. Kiely, J. Regan, D. Looby, M. O'Riordan, T. Wade, J. Healy, K. Mulvihill, T. Kiely.

This week's photo features the Ballinacourty U21 Football team that landed the 1979 Western and County Titles in what was an unprecedented year for football in the club. These titles were added to the Western Minor and County Senior Championships already secured. Early round victories over Stradbally and Brickey Rangers set up a Western Final against Kilrossanty at Fraher Field. A narrow 1-9 to 2-3 win was followed by a 2-8 to 2-4 triumph over Ferrybank in the County Final. 
Club History
Abbeyside / Ballinacourty GAA Club was formed in 1967 as a result of the amalgamation of Abbeyside Hurling and Football Clubs and Ballinacourty Football Club. It is situated within the Parish of Abbeyside, Ballinroad and Garranbane. Located on the eastern side of the River Colligan, it forms the northern and eastern shorelines of Dungarvan Harbour from Abbeyside Church to Ballinacourty Lighthouse
Development Fund
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club has been growing at a dramatic pace over the past 10 years with the population of our parish increasing rapidly. We must ensure that we have the best facilities for all our players. We want to ensure that the next generation have the facilities that they need and deserve. We are asking supporters and friends to support this project over the next five years.
Strategic Plan
Past generations have had their visions for the future of our club. These are our current aims and with these achieved we hope to hand on the club to future generations in the same healthy state it was passed onto us.
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Ireland.
Website by: Déise Design