Saturday, November 24, 2012

Photo of the Week

1987 U12 Western Football Champions
Back Row (L to R): Eoin Murray, Dwaine Moore, Gavin Breen, Declan O'Mahony, Patrick Power, Michael Sheehan, Paul O'Brien, Jason O'Donovan, Gavin Keane.
Middle Row (L to R): Jonathan Moore, Michael Kelleher, Paudie Shields, Kieran Cunningham, Michael Enright, Brendan Cliffe, Willie Fennell, Brendan Flynn.
Front Row (L to R): Alan Moore, Fergal Fraher, Michael Brett, Brian O'Donovan, Aidan Landers, Vincent Tobin.

This week's photo shows the Abbeyside U12 team that captured the Western Football title after a 2-4 to 2-1 victory over Tallow at Lismore. All underage football teams played as Abbeyside until the Club Constitution was altered in 2000. This marked the fourth occasion that the club won the divisional title. No county finals were played at U12 level at this time.
Club History
Abbeyside / Ballinacourty GAA Club was formed in 1967 as a result of the amalgamation of Abbeyside Hurling and Football Clubs and Ballinacourty Football Club. It is situated within the Parish of Abbeyside, Ballinroad and Garranbane. Located on the eastern side of the River Colligan, it forms the northern and eastern shorelines of Dungarvan Harbour from Abbeyside Church to Ballinacourty Lighthouse
Development Fund
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club has been growing at a dramatic pace over the past 10 years with the population of our parish increasing rapidly. We must ensure that we have the best facilities for all our players. We want to ensure that the next generation have the facilities that they need and deserve. We are asking supporters and friends to support this project over the next five years.
Strategic Plan
Past generations have had their visions for the future of our club. These are our current aims and with these achieved we hope to hand on the club to future generations in the same healthy state it was passed onto us.
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Ireland.
Website by: Déise Design