Saturday, August 11, 2012

Photo of the Week

1996 Junior 'B' Western Hurling Champions
Back Row (L to R): Willie Kiely, Pat O'Brien, Bosco Mahony, Brendan Mansfield, Ger Collins, James Fleming, John Clancy, Miles Clancy, Dáithí Fraher, Frank Sweeney, Billy Keohan, Paddy Keohan, Kevin Tobin, Mel Shanley, Johnny Morrissey.
Front Row (L to R): Tony Mansfield, Richie Morrissey, Luke Brennan, James Hayes, Paul Breen, Brian O'Donovan, Ollie Keohan, Emmet Byrne, Martin Carroll, Richie Dunne, Michael Mansfield.

This week's photo shows the Abbeyside Junior 'B' Hurling team that won the Western Championship in 1996.  The final, played in Cappoquin in September, saw us defeat Glen Rovers from Melleray on a scoreline of 4-5 to 0-12.  Victory in the Western Junior 'B' Football secured a first double in this grade for the club.
Club History
Abbeyside / Ballinacourty GAA Club was formed in 1967 as a result of the amalgamation of Abbeyside Hurling and Football Clubs and Ballinacourty Football Club. It is situated within the Parish of Abbeyside, Ballinroad and Garranbane. Located on the eastern side of the River Colligan, it forms the northern and eastern shorelines of Dungarvan Harbour from Abbeyside Church to Ballinacourty Lighthouse
Development Fund
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club has been growing at a dramatic pace over the past 10 years with the population of our parish increasing rapidly. We must ensure that we have the best facilities for all our players. We want to ensure that the next generation have the facilities that they need and deserve. We are asking supporters and friends to support this project over the next five years.
Strategic Plan
Past generations have had their visions for the future of our club. These are our current aims and with these achieved we hope to hand on the club to future generations in the same healthy state it was passed onto us.
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Ireland.
Website by: Déise Design