Saturday, February 1, 2014

Photo of the Week

Underage Hurlers, Mid 1980s
Included Back Row (L to R): Patrick Power, Peter Chivers, Damien French, Dwaine Moore, Pat Veale, Fergal Cunningham, Jonathan Forsey, Liam Byrne.
Included Front Row (L to R): Alan Mulcahy, John Clancy, Michael Sheehan, Benny Flynn, Dermot Ryan, Jimmy Stacey, John Paul Cosgrave, Jason O'Donovan, Michael O'Connor.

This week's photo comes from the mid 1980s and shows many underage hurlers at the club grounds. Lots of those pictured here went onto win juvenile and adult titles in subsequent years. Indeed now that their playing careers are over, some have taken to coaching the next generation of Abbeyside hurlers.
Club History
Abbeyside / Ballinacourty GAA Club was formed in 1967 as a result of the amalgamation of Abbeyside Hurling and Football Clubs and Ballinacourty Football Club. It is situated within the Parish of Abbeyside, Ballinroad and Garranbane. Located on the eastern side of the River Colligan, it forms the northern and eastern shorelines of Dungarvan Harbour from Abbeyside Church to Ballinacourty Lighthouse
Development Fund
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club has been growing at a dramatic pace over the past 10 years with the population of our parish increasing rapidly. We must ensure that we have the best facilities for all our players. We want to ensure that the next generation have the facilities that they need and deserve. We are asking supporters and friends to support this project over the next five years.
Strategic Plan
Past generations have had their visions for the future of our club. These are our current aims and with these achieved we hope to hand on the club to future generations in the same healthy state it was passed onto us.
Abbeyside/Ballinacourty GAA Club, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford, Ireland.
Website by: Déise Design